Minimalism and Home Parties

Minimalism and Home Parties are pretty much on opposite ends of the spectrum. Home parties generally entice people to buy things that they don’t need, and, of course, minimalism encourages purchases of only necessary things. How does someone striving to simplify participate in these parties, or is declining the only option?

First, let me put this out there. I have always been a fan of the home party. One of my minors is Event Planning, so preparing for one of these parties in my own home has always been fun for me. Ok, I could do without the crazy cleaning I do to my house beforehand, but I love making hors d’oeuvres, putting out my fancy serving dishes, and generally just trying to be the hostess with the mostest! I even tried my hand at being a consultant, but it just wasn’t my thing.

Recently, I watched the documentary by Joshua Fields Milburn and Ryan Nicodemus, otherwise known as The Minimalists. One point made during the film is that our stuff starts determining our social value. If your leggings aren’t LuLaRoe, your totes aren’t Thirty-one, or your locket isn’t Origami Owl, it isn’t as good as those that are.

llr

I started thinking about my own collection of home party goodies, and wondered why I have accumulated so many. Are they things I use and love or are they things to show other people how trendy I am? I have purchased many things that I use regularly and love what they contribute to myself or my home. Unfortunately, I have also made many purchases because I felt obligated or because many of my friends are using, wearing, or selling the product.

I’ve already turned one party down this year, citing my 30-day shopping diet for the reason, but 30 days doesn’t last forever. I know myself well enough that I would never attend a party and not purchase something. So, what’s a girl like me to do? Can I still have home parties? Can I still go to them?

For now, I think I’ll definitely refrain from hosting any parties. At least that way I’m not forcing myself (or anyone else) to feel obligated to make unnecessary purchases. I won’t rule out attending a home party because they can truly be a time to catch up with old friends and make some new ones, but I will definitely be more selective.

How are you handling home parties in your journey to minimalism? Did you stop hosting or going to these parties? Do you still go but don’t purchase? Leave me a comment or find me on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

